Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Ones We Keep: a Virtual Fireside Adventure with debut novelist Bobbie Jean Huff

February 9 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm PST

Free – $19.99

About the Event

One family. One tragedy. One incredible decision to change their fate. What would you do? This is the question that debut novelist Bobbie Jean Huff explores in her emotional new book, The Ones We Keep, and one which you will be able to discuss live with the author in our next virtual Fireside Adventure.

Grab a glass of wine or hot cocoa, curl up in your favorite chair, and get ready to chat live with Bobbie Jean to discuss her book, ask questions, and converse live “on stage.”

To join our virtual event on the exciting new storytelling platform, Fireside, simply purchase a book or register below and we will send you a private VIP link to attend the virtual event. If you have an iPhone or iPad, you can be part of the virtual audience to chat live with Bobbie Jean. With other devices, you can still listen live to the broadcast.

Your Adventure includes a paperback copy of The Ones We Keep, tax, shipping within the U.S. and Canada, a live Fireside chat with Bobbie Jean, Q&A, and the opportunity to experience the debut of her emotional book.

About the Author and Book

Canadian-American Bobbie Jean Huff studied music in the United States and France, but it wasn’t until she moved to Canada that she began writing. Since childhood she had wanted to write a novel, but for decades wrote only short stories, poetry, and essays.

The plot for The Ones We Keep was sparked when she was returning to a Vermont family resort where she and her family had been staying. She looked across the lake to the dock, where children were playing, and asked herself, What if? The Ones We Keep took three years to write. It was shortlisted for the 2019 Dzanc Prize for Fiction and was a semi-finalist in the William Faulkner-William Wisdom 2019 Creative Writing Competition.

In her emotional debut, for fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler, The Ones We Keep follows the splintered lives of four family members in the years following an unthinkable tragedy, and the choices they must make to find their way back to each other. One family. One tragedy. One incredible decision to change their fate.

A quiet lakeside resort in Vermont seems like the perfect summer getaway for Olivia and Harry Somerville and their three young boys. But in a single moment, their idyllic family retreat becomes a mother’s worst nightmare. Returning from a solo hike one afternoon, Olivia learns from a passing stranger that one of her sons has drowned—but not which one. In that moment, Olivia makes a panicked decision that will change her family forever.

An emotional and heartfelt meditation on the nature of loss, the gift of recovery, and the bonds of love, The Ones We Keep tells the story of one family as they learn to face their grief and fight for hope.

About Fireside

We are thrilled to announce that Adventures by the Book has been invited to host a literary series on Fireside which will include book discussions, author talks, book clubs, special presentations, and much more. During the course of WWII, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt instituted a series of “fireside chats” on the radio, as a way to regularly communicate self-assurance and calm during times of despair and uncertainty in our country.

While once a thing of the past, thanks to the brilliant collaboration of billionaire entrepreneur and Shark Tank TV star, Mark Cuban, and Falon Fatemi, former CEO and Founder of Node.ai, Fireside Chats are back, bigger and better than ever, and in a technological format that allows YOU to actively participate!

Fireside Chat is the exclusive, invite-only new podcast platform for the next generation – a socially responsible space for us to come together in real-time to collaborate and create meaningful conversations. Together, we will engage in discussion, debate, and discourse in a public forum and make it a thing of celebration and beauty. We are ready to share our microphone with you and hope you’ll join us as we collaborate in the world’s most dynamic auditorium.

 

 

Save

Details

Date:
February 9
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm PST
Cost:
Free – $19.99
Event Categories:
, , ,
Event Tags:
, , ,

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available