Loading Events

« All Events

An Afternoon of Mystery and Suspense: a Carlsbad City Library Adventure featuring NYT/bestselling authors Christopher Reich and Parker Adams

May 17 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm PDT

$16.99 – $29.99

About the Live, In-Person, Adventure

 “Nobody reads a mystery to get to the middle. They read it to get to the end.” – Mickey Spillane

But why not start reading in the middle of the day so you have more time to get to the end of two really suspenseful books by two talented SoCal authors, New York Times bestselling author Christopher Reich and attorney-turned-novelist Parker Adams, who both have new books that will keep you turning the pages for more.

You won’t want to miss listening to Christopher Reich discuss his new novel, Matterhorn, a spy thriller following retired CIA agent Mac Dekker searching for answers about the death of his son, and Parker Adams’ The Lock Box, a heist story following army vet-turned-safecracker Monna Locke who must use her skills to save herself and her son.

 

Registration

Registration for this event is not required, as it is free and open to the public. However, copies of Matterhorn and The Lock Box are available for pre-sale below to be delivered to the event for signing. Books will be also be available for purchase and signing at the event.

 

About the Authors and Books

Christopher Reich is the New York Times bestselling author of The TakeNumbered AccountRules of DeceptionRules of VengeanceRules of Betrayal, and many other thrillers. He graduated from Georgetown University and went on to study business at the University of Texas. Chris then lived and worked in Switzerland as an investment banker before moving to Austin to author his first novel, Numbered Account, which went on to sell over 1 million copies. He has since authored 12 more novels, many of which have appeared on the NYT Bestseller list.

His novel The Patriots Club won the International Thriller Writers award for Best Novel in 2006. He lives in Southern California, in the beautiful town of Newport Beach.

His latest novel, Matterhorn, is an alpine thriller where a sudden family death and an old nemesis bring retired agent Mac Dekker in from the cold.

Joseph Reid is the author of the Amazon Charts-bestselling Seth Walker series (Takeoff, False Horizon, and Departure) as well as the forthcoming thriller The Lock Box. Joseph’s first career was as a research marine biologist, studying all manner of sharks including great whites. After receiving biology degrees from Duke University and the University of California at Davis, Joseph left science for Notre Dame Law School. For nearly twenty-five years, he has worked as a patent litigator, trying million- and billion-dollar cases for litigants ranging from individual inventors to Fortune 50 companies.

While still a practicing lawyer, Joseph turned to writing fiction in his spare time. Joseph’s first novel Takeoff, featuring electrical engineer-turned-air marshal Seth Walker, was selected as an Amazon First Reads pick and has garnered over 27,000 reviews and ratings across Amazon and Goodreads. After two more successful installments in the Walker series, Joseph turned to his love of heist stories to create his new novel The Lock Box, which will be released in 2024 under the pen name Parker Adams.

The Lock Box follows an army vet-turned-safecracker who is forcibly recruited to be part of a dangerous heist. She’ll need all her skills to get out alive in this fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and P. J. Tracy.

 

About the Carlsbad City Library

Carlsbad City Library provides community members of all ages with convenient access to high-quality resources and services to inform and enrich individual and community life. Carlsbad City Library is the destination for information, enjoyment of reading, lifelong learning, and cultural enrichment for those who live, work and play in Carlsbad.

Details

Date:
May 17
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm PDT
Cost:
$16.99 – $29.99
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, , , ,

Other

Location Details
1775 Dove Ln Carlsbad, CA 92011

Venue

Carlsbad City Library
1775 Dove Lane
Carlsbad, CA 92011 United States
+ Google Map

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
The Lock Box hc book (5/17/24)
This option is for a hardcover copy of The Lock Box to be delivered to the event for signing. Due to the special nature of this event, no refunds are available after May 10, 2024, or for no-shows.
$ 29.99
Unlimited
Matterhorn pb book (5/17/24)
This option is for a paperback copy of Matterhorn to be delivered to the event for signing. Due to the special nature of this event, no refunds are available after May 10, 2024, or for no-shows.
$ 16.99
Unlimited