Loading Events

« All Events

Serving With a Purpose: A (Private) Virtual Fundraising Adventure

June 9 @ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm PDT

Free – $26.00

PRIVATE EVENT

Please note this is a private event open only to Serving With a Purpose members and is not open to the general public.

About this Event

The Serving With A Purpose Conference is a yearly gathering for California Friends, Trustees, Foundations, Volunteer Leaders and the staff who support them!  Now in its 8th year, this popular conference is designed to provide resources, inspiration, best practices and support to the many library advocates in California, and will take place on September 1, 2021 at the Ontario Convention Center.

In an effort to continue offering relevant resources to the library community, a first time mini-conference has been organized.

We realize that most of you have experienced recent canceled fundraising opportunities. From book sales to annual, large in -person events, COVID-19 has certainly challenged us all. For that reason, and in support of all YOU do to support your library, we invite you to join us for this FREE virtual mini-conference focused on fundraising.

Our hope is that this virtual event will provide the inspiration needed to continue in your fundraising efforts. You will hear from Southern California Friends and Foundations that have successfully developed and presented ways to fundraise during these uncertain times. Even as our state begins to recover, these tried and true ideas can still be replicated. As an added benefit, you will get to meet New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Janet Skeslien Charles and hear about her newest book The Paris Library.

While this event is free to attend for Serving With a Purpose members, we encourage you to purchase a book below in support of the author, whose book tour and events have been cancelled due to COVID19.

To receive your Zoom invite, please register below. Any questions may be directed via email to robinhoklotubbe@aol.com.

About the Author and Book

Janet Skeslien Charles is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Moonlight in Odessa and The Paris Library. Her shorter work has appeared in revues such as Slice and Montana Noir. She learned about the history of the American Library in Paris while working there as the programs manager. She divides her time between Montana and Paris.

Her new novel, The Paris Library, a most anticipated book of the year by The Library Journal and Goodreads, a Library Reads selection, and the #1 Indie Next Pick Great Reads February 2021, is based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris. This unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, is perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and The Book Thief.

Paris, 1939. Odile Souchet is obsessed with books and the Dewey Decimal System, which makes order out of chaos. She soon has it all – a handsome police officer beau, an English best friend, and a job at the American Library in Paris, a thriving community of students, writers, diplomats, and book lovers. Yet when war is declared, there’s also a war on words.

Montana, 1983. Widowed and alone, Odile suffers the solitary confinement of small-town life. Though most adults are cowed by her, the neighbor girl will not let her be. Lily, a lonely teenager yearning to break free of Froid, is obsessed by the French woman who lives next door.

As the two become friends, Odile sees herself in Lily – the same love of language, the same longings, the same lethal jealousy. The Paris Library’s dual narratives explore the relationships that make us who we are – family and friends, first loves and favorite authors.

The wit, empathy, and meticulous research that brings The Paris Library to life also brings to light a cast of lively real-life characters and a little-known chapter of World War II history: the story of the American librarian, Miss Reeder, who created the Soldiers’ Service to deliver books to servicemen, and who later faced the Nazi ‘Library Protector’ in order to keep her library open. She and her colleagues defied the Bibliotheksschutz by delivering books to Jewish readers after they were forbidden from entering the library.

 

Save

Details

Date:
June 9
Time:
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm PDT
Cost:
Free – $26.00
Event Categories:
, , ,
Event Tags:
, ,

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
FREE Event Admission 6-9-21
This option is for a free Zoom admission to the event. Book sold separately. Zoom invites are emailed 3 days prior to the event
$ 0.00
238 available
EVENT admission with hardcover copy of The Paris Library
This option is for event admission plus a hardcover copy of The Paris Library. Includes signed bookplate and shipping within the U.S.
$ 26.00
Unlimited