Loading Events

« All Events

Women’s History Month Adventure-Orange County

February 29, 2020 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm PST

$14.59 – $65.00

About the Event

“We Can Do It” has been an inspirational phrase since it was first used during WWII to highlight the iconic figure of a strong female. We want to carry on that tradition by highlighting strong female authors who have written inspirational tales of other strong females in history at our upcoming Women’s History Month Adventure with New York Times and bestselling authors Anita Abriel, Jennifer Chiaverini, Adrienne Sharp, and Kitty Zeldis

Enjoy a glass of wine and appetizers while mingling with accomplished female authors who will share four separate stories about unqiue roles women have played in our world’s history. From Anita’s moving novel inspired by her mother and best friend who survived the Holocaust, to Jennifer’s saga of how one courageous American woman and her circle of friends waged a battle against Hitler in Nazi Germany, to Adrienne’s irrepressible young protagonist growing up in golden-age Hollywood and Las Vegas, and finally to Kitty’s compelling novel about two women-one Jewish, one a WASP, set in postwar New York City, you will leave the event full of gratitude for our world of women!

This Adventure includes wine or soft beverage, appetizers, art gallery exhibitions, book discussion with all four authors, Q&A, book signing, and the opportunity to meet the authors in at the stunning Forest & Ocean Gallery in Laguna Beach. Space is limited for this event, and available on a first-come, first-served basis only.

About the Authors

Anita Abriel was born in Sydney, Australia. She received a BA in English Literature with a minor in Creative Writing from Bard College. She lives in California with her family and is the author of The Light After the War which was inspired by her mother’s story of survival during WWII.

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the post-war years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones.

 

 

Jennifer Chiaverini is the New York Times bestselling author of several acclaimed historical novels and the beloved Elm Creek Quilts series, as well as six collections of quilt patterns inspired by her books. Her original quilt designs have been featured in Country WomanQuiltmakerQuiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volumes 3-5, and Quilt, and her short stories have appeared in Quiltmaker and Quilters Newsletter.

Her new book, Resistance Women, was a June 2019 “Indie Next Pick.” From the New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker comes an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American—Mildred Fish Harnack—and her circle of friends who waged a clandestine battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin.

 

Adrienne Sharp is the critically-acclaimed author of the story collection White Swan, Black Swan, a Barnes and Noble Discover Book and a national bestseller; the novel The Sleeping Beauty, a Barnes and Noble Discover Alumni book and one of Booklist’s ten best first novels of 2005; and the novel The True Memoirs of Little K, a finalist for the California Book Award and translated into six languages.

Her new book, The Magnificent Esme Wells, is a deeply felt and historically-detailed novel of family, loss, and love, told by an irrepressible young girl—the daughter of a two-bit gangster and a movie showgirl—growing up in golden-age Hollywood and Las Vegas in its early days.

 

 

Kitty Zeldis is the award-winning author of twenty-seven books for children and seven novels for adults. Her essays, articles, and short fiction have appeared in numerous national and literary publications. She is also a fiction editor who lives in Brooklyn, New York.

In her book, Not Our Kind, echoes of Rules of Civility and The Boston Girl, and is a compelling and thought-provoking novel set in postwar New York City, about two women—one Jewish, one a WASP—and the wholly unexpected consequences of their meeting.

 

About Forest & Ocean Gallery

Forest & Ocean Gallery in Laguna Beach, is a fine art gallery devoted to all forms of artistic expression, proudly representing 30+ award-winning artists and Laguna Plein Air Painters Association in Residence… A Great Good Place for Art, Community and bringing together the best of both.whose mission is to offer “A Great Good Place for Art, Community and bringing together the best of both.”

Details

Date:
February 29, 2020
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
$14.59 – $65.00
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

Venue

Forest & Ocean Gallery
480 Ocean Avenue
Laguna Beach, CA 92651 United States
+ Google Map

Tickets

Unlimited available
OC Event$30.00This option is for the event only. Books are sold separately. Due to the special nature of this event, no refunds are available for no-shows or cancellations after February 23, 2020.
Unlimited available
4 Book Bundle Discounted$86.99 $65.00This option is to purchase all 4 books at a discounted rate, to be delivered at the event. Due to the special nature of this offer, no refunds are available after purchase.
Unlimited available
Light After the War hc book$27.00 $21.60This option is to purchase a copy of Light After the War to be delivered at the event. Event tickets are sold separately.
Unlimited available
Resistance Women pb book$17.00 $15.39This option is to purchase a copy of Resistance Women to be delivered at the event. Event tickets are sold separately.
Unlimited available
Not Our Kind pb book$16.99 $14.59This option is to purchase a copy of Not Our Kind to be delivered at the event. Event tickets are sold separately.
Unlimited available
The Magnificent Esme Wells hc book$26.00 $21.59This option is to purchase a copy of The Magnificent Esme Wells to be delivered at the event. Event tickets are sold separately.