Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Diamond Eye: a virtual Zoom Adventure featuring NYT bestselling author Kate Quinn

March 31 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm PDT

Free – $36.50

About the Event

Diamonds may be a girl’s best friend, but New York Times bestselling author Kate Quinn’s protagonist is anything but a girl’s best friend. Join us, in partnership with HarperCollins, as Kate launches her new novel, The Diamond Eye, an unforgettable World War II tale of a quiet bookworm who becomes history’s deadliest female sniper.

Your Adventure includes a moderated author discussion, Q&A, and the opportunity to meet this bestselling author virtually via Zoom! The event is FREE and open to the public.

However, if you are a die-hard Kate Quinn fan (and who isn’t!!), check out the Diamond VIP Event option below, which includes an autographed hardcover copy of The Diamond Eye, tax, and shipping within the US, as well as an extra 30 minutes of Zoom time with the author prior to the event.

Diamond VIP Event: 3:30pm Pacific time/4:30pm Mtn/5:30pm Central/6:30pm Eastern

General Admission: 4:00pm Pacific time/5:00pm Mtn/6:00pm Central/7:00pm Eastern

*This event will be held virtually via Zoom. Event access is provided via Zoom link provided directly to you via HarperCollins.

 

About the Author and Book

Kate Quinn is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of historical fiction. She has written four novels in the Empress of Rome Saga, and two books in the Italian Renaissance, before turning to the 20th century with The Alice Network, The Huntress, The Rose Code, and The Diamond Eye. All have been translated into multiple languages.

A native of southern California, she attended Boston University where she earned a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Classical Voice. Kate and her husband now live in San Diego with three rescue dogs.

Her latest novel, The Diamond Eye, is an unforgettable World War II tale of a quiet bookworm who becomes history’s deadliest female sniper.

In 1937 in the snowbound city of Kiev (now known as Kyiv), wry and bookish history student Mila Pavlichenko organizes her life around her library job and her young son—but Hitler’s invasion of Ukraine and Russia sends her on a different path. Given a rifle and sent to join the fight, Mila must forge herself from studious girl to deadly sniper—a lethal hunter of Nazis known as Lady Death. When news of her three hundredth kill makes her a national heroine, Mila finds herself torn from the bloody battlefields of the eastern front and sent to America on a goodwill tour.

Still reeling from war wounds and devastated by loss, Mila finds herself isolated and lonely in the glittering world of Washington, DC—until an unexpected friendship with First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and an even more unexpected connection with a silent fellow sniper offer the possibility of happiness. But when an old enemy from Mila’s past joins forces with a deadly new foe lurking in the shadows, Lady Death finds herself battling her own demons and enemy bullets in the deadliest duel of her life.

Based on a true story, The Diamond Eye is a haunting novel of heroism born of desperation, of a mother who became a soldier, of a woman who found her place in the world and changed the course of history forever.

Save

Details

Date:
March 31
Time:
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm PDT
Cost:
Free – $36.50
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
,

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available